Student Clubs

Meet the Laureates of the Student Leadership Awards


AUP’s annual Student Leadership Awards recognize those global explorers who have made outstanding contributions to our on-campus community over the academic year through clubs, athletics organizations, publications, the Student Government Association (SGA) and other acts of service.

The event – which this year took place on Tuesday, May 3, in the Combes Student Life Center – is organized by the SGA in collaboration with AUP Student Media, the Office of Student Leadership and the Office of Physical Activities and Self-Care. The 2022 ceremony saw 40 student leaders and active community members honored with an award.


Athletics Awards

These awards recognize outstanding achievement in the field of athletics and wellbeing and are selected by Ashkan Shalbaf from the Office of Physical Activities and Self-Care as well as student coaches.

AUP Dance

  • Dedication: Annika Zoetmulder and Gisele Luiz
  • Courage and Perseverance: Ethan Nguyen
  • Improvement: Allie Dvorchak


  • Most Valuable Player: Avery Sharp
  • Most Improved: Zion Drake
  • Most Dedicated: Gabby Bashizi

Other PAS Awards

  • Newcomer Award: Yoga Club, led by Alyssa Gauk
  • Perseverance Award: Cameron Waggett and Jonathan Moniz
  • Off-Campus Achievement: Allen Blackwell
  • Most Versatile Participant: Carolin Melz


Golden Plumes

The Golden Plume awards recognize journalism as an important platform for student voices within the AUP on-campus community. They were selected by staff advisor Evan Bracken and Peacock managing editor Erin Flanagan.

  • Peacock Magazine: “Hypocrisy, islamophobia and the future of immigration” – written by Christina Alvarez-Correa
  • Peacock Plume: “Do you know Fumo?” – written by Oscar Padula
  • AUP Radio: “The Nightly Negroni” – produced By Giulia Oddone and Caleb Stangl
  • Best PodPlay Contribution: Love & Rejection
  • Most Creative Contributor: Sofia Rose


Performing Arts Awards (Selected by Safia Benyahia and Hera Soysal)

These special one-off awards recognize outstanding commitment to AUP’s 60th-Anniversary Spring Arts Festival, which involved over 45 student contributors. They were presented by Student Leadership Coordinator Safia Benyahia and selected by student Hera Soysal, Chair of VIVRE performing arts club.

  • Benjamin Ernest

  • Aminelle Gill

  • Gabriella Mendes

  • Oscar Padula

  • Madison Ponder

  • Maximiliano Stiemerling de la Vega

  • Gabriel Villaveces Galofre


Student Leadership Awards

Each year, AUP’s Office of Student Leadership recognizes students who have had a positive impact on the on-campus community. This year’s selections were made by Student Leadership Coordinator Safia Benyahia.

  • Model Student Advisor: Lynn Elhadjali 

  • Model Editor: Abigail Wright

  • Model Student Government Officer: Carolin Melz

  • Most Executive Exec: Andrew Callaghan

  • Model Student Organization: Black and Abroad

  • Most Impactful Visiting Student: Madeline Lankarini

  • Most Impactful Project: Ukraine Fundraiser

  • Best Event: World’s Fair

  • Service Award: Ria Phi

  • Emerging Student Leader: Angelina Zagaynova

  • Most Involved: Hera Soysal

  • M.O.M. Award (Most Outstanding Mentor): Sandra Lefaure

  • Most Dedicated Faculty/Staff Advisor: Charlotte Vernier

  • Dean’s Leadership Award: Jennifer Edwards


Awards for Student-to-Student Scholarship

These awards are given to students who have shown clear evidence of service, leadership and community commitment. Nominees are required to submit a 750-word essay detailing their community contributions to be eligible for the award. This year’s winners were selected by a committee featuring three Student Government Executives, a representative from Financial Aid and the Student Leadership Coordinator.

  • Fatimata Atty Germaine Djibrine

  • Hera Soysal

  • Christopher Hussey