Graduating This Year?  Earn An Award for Your Academic Excellence

Alumni Sin-ming Shaw ’65, a former member of AUP’s Board of Trustees and recipient of the 2002 Distinguished Service Alumni Award, established an award for academic excellence in 1997 and many AUP students have benefited.   His intention is to inspire you to think across disciplines and to combine creativity and academic rigor in your work.  As the award carries a monetary prize of €1,000 and is conferred each year on a graduating senior for a significant project, you should consider submitting your work and plan ahead.


How to Apply for the Sin-ming Shaw ’65 Award for Excellence

The award is given for a senior paper that meets the award criteria for academic rigor and creativity. You may submit only one paper for the prize. A selection committee composed of members of the faculty will choose the awardee.  Your submission should have been written or produced for an upper level course (numbered 3000 or above) during your last two regular undergraduate terms at AUP prior to graduation. It should also meet the normal standards of presentation, formatting and editing (see MLA Handbook or Chicago Manual of Style or other guide, depending on discipline). Be sure to carefully review your paper using these guidelines before submission.

To apply for the award, you will need to submit the following:

  • Five copies of the paper or project as given to your professor;
  • The original paper or project with the professor’s comments and grade;
  • Five copies of an unofficial transcript that includes your most recent grades.

Please send your documents to Brenda Torney in the Office of Academic Affairs (; they must be in her hands by no later than Friday, May 4, 2018.

Please make sure that you provide the Office with an address, telephone number or e-mail where you can be contacted. We would also like to know if you wish to have the original paper returned to you; if so please include a mailing address.  You can also pick up the paper from the Office of Academic Affairs after graduation in May. Papers and projects will be discarded from our office in June if we have not received indication that you would like them returned.

The Sin-ming Shaw ’65 Award for Excellence review committee looks forward to your participation and to reviewing your intellectual accomplishments. 


Previous Sin-ming Shaw ’65 Award Recipients

  • 2017: Kendra Mills: “Three Contradictions of Women’s Rights in Rwanda: Redefining Identity, Power, and Elitism”
  • 2016: Audrey Michels: “A Lost Generation of Lost Boys” and Amanda Skaar: “The Malagasy Sovereign Rating”
  • 2015: Jerusalem Parsons “I & I: Irigaray, Writing, and Female Identity”
  • 2014: Dana Kianfar: “Handshake Application” and Monica Sellidj: “The Senkaku/Diaoyu Islands Dispute”
  • 2013: Lucile Culver: “(De)-Constructing Knighthood: An Examination of the Spatiality of Chivalry in Sir Gawain and the Green Knight and The Romance of Tristan
  • 2012: Mona Reiserer: “Illustrating David Grossman’s Momik” and Alban Demiraj and Anas Bouzoubaa: “Can Collecting Autonomous Mobil Robot”
  • 2011: Sophia Bogner: “Kafka and the Fly Bottle”
  • 2010: Lilyana Yankova: “Virginia Woolf and the Art of Collage”
  • 2009: Jan Steyn: “The Guilty Goddess of My Harmful Deeds”
  • 2008: Caroline Klaeth Eriksen: “Compulsory Religious Education in Norwegian Public Schools – Violating the Human Rights of Minorities and Trespassing the Margin of Appreciation”
  • 2007: Julie Leitz: “Bilingualism as a Lifestyle Factor: The Protective Effect of Speaking Two Languages”
  • 2006: Maya Stoilova: “Images of the Middle Ages in A la Recherche du temps perdu
  • 2005: Elif Eren “Swoosh: Nike and the Paradigm of Consumer Belief”
  • 2004: Caroline Laurent: “Writing the Holocaust: the Self, the Real, and Trauma”
  • 2003: Anna Kazantseva: “Webgeni, a Website Generating Tool for AUP Student Publications”
  • 2002: Nils Schott: “Peut-on imaginer un repas sans Badoit ? The Genre of the Catechism, Ulysses and the Failure of Epiphany”
  • 2001: Alex Kunadze: “The Student Government Network Broadcasting and Communication System”
  • 2000: Lauren Anderson
  • 1999: Karyn Heavner 
  • 1998: Natalia Lechmanova, Leigh Thomas, Katrin Wirth
  • 1997: Monica Heslington, Marta Lee Perriard, Jason Wood