Olympics 2024:

Information about Campus Tours, Access and Visits

The dream apartment view for any student living in Paris.

Comparative Literature and English

Call for Applicants for Paris Writer’s Residency 2022


Practitioners in poetry, prose or other genres of writing are invited to apply for the fourth edition of the Paris Writer’s Residency, an initiative jointly sponsored by The American University of Paris (AUP), the Centre Culturel Irlandais (Irish Cultural Center) in Paris, and the University of Kent Paris School of Arts and Culture (PSAC). The residency will take place from October 1 to 31, 2022.

Residents are encouraged to explore interdisciplinary writing possibilities and engage with students at the residency’s partner institutions. The chosen writer will be required to take part in three key events: a day of interaction with creative writing students at AUP, a reading and workshop with PSAC master’s students, and a public lecture at the Centre Culturel Irlandais.

The appointment is non-stipendiary, though accommodation will be provided at the Centre Culturel Irlandais located in the “Latin Quarter” of Paris’s 5th arrondissement, so called due to its scholarly history as a university district. An expenses allowance of €1,500 is provided to cover travel and living costs.

Applicants are asked to submit a CV and a writing sample of no more than 3,000 words, as well as a 250-word letter of motivation explaining why Paris is an appropriate location for their residency and how they plan to work with students. Applications will begin to be accepted from March 15 and will close on May 1, 2022. The successful candidate will be notified in June.

To submit your application via the Interfolio platform, click the button below. (Please note that you will be asked to create an account.) If you have any questions related to the residency, please contact Amanda Dennis (adennisataup.edu (subject: Paris%20Writer's%20Residency) ).

The Paris Writer’s Residency has previously been held by writer and translator Daniel Hahn (2018), poet and author Sampurna Chatterjee (2019) and poet and novelist Sophie Mackintosh (2021).