Student Government

The Student Government Association is made up of the Undergraduate and Graduate Student Councils, Student Senate, and various committees. Together, they represent the student body, plan events for students, allocate funds to support student activities, and more.


SGA Executive Team

The Student Government Association (SGA) Executive Team is comprised of the Undergraduate Student Council (USC) and the Graduate Student Council (GSC). Each council consists of four members: President, Vice President, Communications Director, and Social Director. The Treasurer is an independent member of the SGA Executive team, serving the entire student government. The position of Treasurer is open to both Graduate and Undergraduate Students. 

Student Senate

The senate is comprised of a representative from each undergraduate department, each undergraduate year, and graduate programs. Senators are elected by the student body. They represent their constituents in senate meetings and to faculty and the administration. Senators vote on important university-wide issues, including the allocation of the general student activities budget of approximately €100,000 per year. The Student Senate organization on AUP Engage contains a complete list of senate seats, including a regularly updated list of current senators and open seats. You may also find detailed minutes from senate meetings on AUP Engage or this page.


SGA-mandated committees inform and mobilize students on campus to make a difference at AUP. Current committees include:

Committee members are appointed by members of SGA. While all AUP students are welcome to join a Committee, one Senate Chair is appointed from Student Senate to each committee. If you’re interested in joining a committee, get in touch through AUP Engage and/or attend an open meeting.


Student Government holds the following elections each year:

  • Start of Fall Semester: open executive and senator positions (if applicable)
  • Start of Spring Semester: open executive and senator positions (if applicable) + graduation speakers
  • March: Executive Elections for the following academic year
  • April: Senator Elections for the following academic year

All voting is supervised by the SGA Election Taskforce comprised of AUP students and staff. A system of checks and balances is in place to ensure fair and transparent elections. Links to online ballots will be emailed to all students and listed on AUP Engage when available. 

For more information on the Student Government, its positions and election rules, please refer to the AUP Student Government Constitution. For more information or concerns, please feel free to stop by the Student Government Office located in Combes (C304) or contact the Election Task Force at

Contact Your SGA

Undergraduate Student Council

USC President
Annalisa Cabral-Sanchez

USC Vice President
Ariana Powell

USC Communications Director
Leah Rebecca Nagpal

USC Social Director
Malala-samirha Waseme


Graduate Student Council

GSC President
Morgan Smith

GSC Vice President
Megan Schultz

GSC Communications Director
Annika Thompson

GSC Social Director
Caroline Sjerven

SGA Treasurer
Nicolas Colucci

Contact Your Senator

Please check AUP Engage for a full list of senators. If you’re interested in one of these positions or learning more about Student Government, please contact a member of the executive team.