Presidential Search


The Board of Trustees of The American University of Paris has launched an international search for its 13th President, succeeding President Celeste M. Schenck, who will be stepping down July 31st, 2022. The Board and its Presidential Search Committee is actively pursuing input from all members of the AUP community.

Search Updates

Periodic updates will appear in this space through to the conclusion of this search.

  • September 2021: Search launched
  • July to September 2021: AUP Community Listening Sessions conducted
  • June, 2021: Presidential Search Committee formed / Isaacson, Miller retained
  • May, 2021: President Schenck decision announced

Presidential Search Committee

  • Doris Daughney, Chair, Board of Trustees
  • Achim Klüber (AUP ’87), Vice Chair, Board of Trustees
  • John Klein, Treasurer, Board of Trustees
  • Barbara Reno, Secretary, Board of Trustees
  • Jacqueline Routier (AUP ’94), Trustee
  • Elena Berg, Associate Professor of Computer Science, Math & Environmental Science
  • Stephen Sawyer, Ballantine-Levitt Professor of History and Politics
  • Valerie Fodé, Executive Vice President for Finance & Administration and COO
  • Tim Rogers, Vice President and Director of Enrollment Management

AUP Board Charge to the Presidential Search Committee

About Isaacson, Miller

Isaacson, Miller is the executive search firm assisting with the presidential search at AUP. Isaacson, Miller is a leader in higher education executive search and is known for its ability to identify and recruit executive-level leaders with exceptional talent and diverse backgrounds. Screening of complete applications will begin immediately and continue until the completion of the search process. For more details, and to submit inquiries, nominations, referrals, and applications, please see the Isaacson, Miller website. Electronic submission of materials is required.